Join Our Mailing List


Award Categories

General Awards

Competitive Awards
Publication Design and Technology design

Professional Interest Network Awards

Nominate Now!

MPMA's awards are THE best outlet for showcasing great talent in the region

Submission period ended on June 9, 2017.  Check back with us next spring to submit for the 2018 awards period.

General Awards

Rodeck Award

This award recognizes an individual member of MPMA who has contributed significant service to the museum field within the MPMA region and to MPMA.

Carolyn Garrett Pool Award

This award is given to an outstanding museum student in the MPMA region 

Leadership and Innovation  Award

This award recognizes an MPMA member institution for its innovation and leadership.

President’s Award

The President’s award is given for significant service to MPMA. The award can be presented to an individual, institution, or business that is a member of MPMA in recognition for extra-ordinary service to the organization. The award is a public recognition of those people, institutions or businesses that have contributed significantly in any capacity to the continued growth and success of MPMA.

Nomination Form with more details about the Rodeck, Leadership and Innovation, and Carolyn Garrett Pool Awards

Competitive Awards

Publication Awards

Publication Design Competition 

The Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA) is accepting entries for the annual publication design competition. The Publication Design Competition recognizes outstanding publication design by MPMA member institutions.  This is a juried competition with a minimum of three judges.

Information About the Competition

Entry Form

Payment Form

Technology Awards

Technology Competition

The MPMA Technology Competition recognizes museums for innovative and effective use of technology to serve the needs of their audience. This is a juried competition with a minimum of three judges.  Judges are museum and media professionals with expertise in media and technology programming, production, and subject content.

Information About the Competition

Entry Form

Payment Form

More information about the Competitive Awards--Publication and Technology Awards

Professional Interest Network Awards

MPMA EdCom Award

EdCom Award for Programming Excellence in the MPMA Region

This award recognizes exemplary creativity and innovation in museum educational programming in the MPMA region.

More Information and Nomination Form

2016 Award Winners

Hugo Rodeck Award

Kathy Dickson, Director, Museums and Historic Sites, Oklahoma Historical Society, Oklahoma City, OK

Dr. Eileen Johnson, Director of Academic/Curatorial Programs, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX

President’s Award
Nicky Ladkin, Assistant Director, Museum of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX

Carolyn Garrett Pool Award for Outstanding Museum Studies Student

Andrew S. Dejesse, Graduate Student, Museum Science, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, TX

Fifteen-Year Staff Recognition Award
Monta Lee Dakin, MPMA Executive Director

Leadership and Innovation Award
Montana Historical Society, Helena, MT

Logan County Historical Society, Guthrie, OK

Research Paper Competition Winners

The Whitney Plantation: Examining America’s First Slavery Museum as Trauma Site, Mattie Barlow, University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond, OK

Looking Back, Moving Forward: The Roswell Museum and Arts Center’s WPA Archive, Sara Woodbury, Curator of Collections, Roswell Museum and Arts Center, Roswell, NM

Knowledge to Engagement: Audience Research with Latinos, Nicola Hewitt, MA Graduate, Museum Education, University of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA

Support MPMA just by surfing the web

MPMA: A 10-State Regional Museum Association

Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming

7755 South 23rd Street | Lincoln, NE 68512
T: 402-904-6938   |

All content © 2016 Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software